Circle Track

pinion angle

Item Posts    Sort Order

pinion angle

dick-e dick-e
I watched NASCAR once | Posts: 6 | Joined: 02/08
Posted: 02/13/08
09:22 AM

What is the correct pinion angle for dirt track racing? Another question is my driveshaft is not flat in the car it runs downhill from the tranny to the rear about 2 1/2" so do i have to take that angle into consideration also or just the pinion?  Thanks steve  

dick-e dick-e
Posted: 02/20/08
02:01 PM

246 people looked at this and nobody can even give me there opinion? Confused  

duanen duanen
I watched NASCAR once | Posts: 1 | Joined: 02/08
Posted: 02/21/08
07:29 PM

well 247 offers this, though I'm new to dirt tracking:
It seems to me, unless the driveshaft is really short, 2 1/2" drop isn't real excessive. With that in mind, I believe you would want to try to match the angle at the trans end to the axle end, in other words having the trans and axle yokes parrallel. I think this is how most vehicles are set up.

If you end up pointing the pinion up too much, you run the risk of not enough lube on the pinion bearing. I am told though that in dirt tracking, you want to "overfill" the axle anyway to ensure lube to the inside bearings. I read somewhere once about using a gallon of fluid in the axle.

Again, I am new myself to dirt tracking in anything other than Bomber classes, so I am learning myself. Hope this helps!  

dick-e dick-e
Posted: 02/22/08
02:38 PM

Thanks so much i'll keep that in mind.  

dirttracker07 dirttracker07
I watched NASCAR once | Posts: 1 | Joined: 03/08
Posted: 03/08/08
08:11 AM

i find that you can not measure drop and get an accurate pinion angle as it changes from car to car. unless built on a very solid jig each car will have variances, no matter how much you think you every thing exactly like the last one that worked.  an inexpensive angle finder works very well placed right on top of the third member housing.  i have run as little as 6 degrees and as great as 14 degrees.